Ashaiman Municipal Assembly held a special Assembly meeting on 2nd March, 2022 for the election of the Presiding Member of the Assembly and the composition of sub-committees.

The Presiding Member of the Assembly Hon. Azogi A. Ananga was re-elected as the 7th Presiding Member to serve another term two (2) years in office.  Hon. A. Ananga secured 20 votes representing 76.2% of the total votes cast whilst Hon. Emmanuel Agboson his contestant had five (5) votes with one (1) ballot rejected.

Twenty six (26) Assembly Members including the Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Albert Boakye Okyere cast their votes to elect the Presiding Member of the Assembly.

His Lordship Richard Delali Anku, the Circuit Court Judge of Ashaiman sworn the Presiding Member, Hon. Azogi A. Ananga into office.  He sworn two (2) Oaths; Official Oath and Oath of Secrecy.

In his acceptance speech, Hon. Azogi A. Ananga thanked the Assembly Members, Electoral Officer and the Heads of Department for the confidence reposed in him.  He pledged to work in collaboration with the heads of Department to actualize the vision of the Assembly for Ashaiman to become a 24-hour livable city.

The Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Albert Boakye Okyere on his part thanked the Assembly Members for their mandatory role played in fulfillment of the Local Governance Act, Act 936.

The composition of the Sub-committee was also done by the Assembly with the election of the sub-committee Chairmen.  The sub-committees are Finance and administration, Development planning, Agricultural, Justice and Security, and Social Services.